Out-of-State Toll Violation Reciprocity

May 30, 2012 at 11:42 AM | Posted in Auto, Laws, Personal Insurance, Regulations | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

As a measure in enforcing toll violation laws, the states of Maine, New Hampshire, and Massachusetts have signed an agreement to pursue out-of-state toll violators. The DOT/E-Z Pass processing centers for these three states can now communicate unpaid toll violations to each other.

Once the MassDOT/E-Z pass processing center receives notice from New Hampshire or Maine that a Massachusetts resident has a toll violation, a letter will be sent warning the violator to settle their fee within 30 days or their registration and/or license will be marked as non-renewable. If a Massachusetts resident’s record gets marked, the following fees become applicable in addition to the toll violation fee:

  • $20 RMV surcharge for each violation that is marked
  • $10 administration fee for each violation that is marked

To remove the non-renew mark, violators must pay the toll violation to the applicable state and the $20 RMV surcharge and $10 administration fee to the MassDOT. MassDOT/RMV branches cannot accept the toll violation fee; therefore, violators must contact New Hampshire at 603-485-4641 or Maine at 888-682-7277.

To avoid fees and non-renewal marks on our driving records, let’s all take the time to get in line and pay our dime.

Advertisements

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

%d bloggers like this: